Michael Behr is Professor of Educational Psychology at the University of Education Schwaebisch Gmuend, Germany. His research topics are person-centred counselling, psychotherapy with children and adolescents, young people's emotions and counselling parents. He has authored and edited several books on these topics. He has heldpositions as a visiting academic at the University of Vienna, the University of Antwerp, the University of Gent and Strathclyde University Glasgow. He is the director of the person-centred play therapy training course at the University of Education in Schwaebisch Gmuend; and at the Stuttgart Institute for Person-Centred Therapy and Counselling, which he co-founded and where he works as a therapist, supervisor and facilitator.
Email contact: [michael.behr @ ph-gmuend.de]



Mick Cooper is a Professor of Counselling at the University and a UKCP-registered psychotherapist. His practice is informed by person-centred, existential, postmodern and interpersonal approaches. He is author of ‘Essential Research Findings in Counselling and Psychotherapy: The Facts are Friendly’ (Sage, 2008), ‘Existential Therapies’ (Sage, 2003) and numerous other texts on person-centred, existential, relational and pluralistic approaches to therapy. He is also co-author, with Dave Mearns, of the bestselling ‘Working at Relational Depth in Counselling and Psychotherapy’ (Sage, 2005). Mick lives in Glasgow with his partner and four children.
Email contact: [mick.cooper @ strath.ac.uk]



Beth Freire-001

Elizabeth Freire  is a clinical psychologist, person-centred therapist, and Lecturer in Counselling at the University of Aberdeen, in Scotland. She taught previously at the University of Strathclyde for 7 years and she  was one of the directors of Institute Delphos in Brazil until 2004, when she moved to the UK. She has published several articles and chapters in English, and a book in Portuguese about the theory and practice of person-centred therapy.  Beth is very passionate about the person-centred approach and its ability to promote empowerment and growth, and she is particularly interested in research in the field of therapeutic process, therapeutic change, spirituality and non-directivity in the person-centred approach.
Email contact: [e.freire @ abdn.ac.uk]


DavidDavid Murphy is Lecturer in Counselling and Trauma Studies at the University of  Nottingham, UK. He is a Chartered Counselling Psychologist and Associate Fellow of the British Psychological Society and foundation member of the Register of Psychologists Specializing in Psychotherapy. David's research interests in the field of person-centered psychology are in counselling and psychotherapy process, mutuality and the therapeutic relationship, and trauma. He is Honorary Psychologist in Psychotherapy at the Centre for Trauma, Resilience and Growth, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust.
Email contact: [david.murphy @ nottingham.ac.uk]



Book Reviews Editor

Graham Westwell


Assistant Editors

Tatsuya Hirai Margarethe Letzel
Silvia Lombardi Yukishige Nakata
Odete Nunes Sandra Pedevilla
Ana Ribeiro Catherine Ryan


Editorial Board

Godfrey T. Barrett-Lennard Jürgen Kriz Janet Tolan
Eva-Maria Biermann-Ratjen Colin Lago Keith Tudor
Arthur C. Bohart Elke Lambers Martin van Kalmthout
Yvonne Bohr Germain Lietaer Dionysius Van Werde
Jerold Bozarth John McLeod Margaret S. Warner
Leif Braaten Judy Moore William Whelton
Meredith Glick Brinegar Shoji Murayama Andreas Wittrahm
David Cain Bernie Neville Marge Witty
Jeffrey H. D. Cornelius-White Charles J. O'Leary Mike Worrall
Ivan Ellingham Katerine Osatuke Richard J. Worsley
Barry A. Farber Marlis Pörtner Gill Wyatt
Jobst Finke Alberta Pos Alberto Zucconi
Ned L. Gaylin Campbell Purton
Rhonda N. Goldman David L. Rennie
Stephen Goss Pete Sanders
Soti Grafanaki Kirk J. Schneider
Leslie S. Greenberg Lisbeth Sommerbeck
Marion N. Hendricks-Gendlin Gert-Walter Speierer
Sheila Haugh Gerhard Stumm
James R. Iberg Roelf Jan Takens
Akira Ikemi Per-Anders Tengland
Edwin Kahn Ladislav Timulak 


Former Editors

Robert Elliott (2002-2007) was one of the founding Editors and he is now Editor Emeritus.


Dave Mearns (2002-2008) was one of the founding Editors.


Peter Schmid was one of the founding Editors (2002 -2010)



William B. Stiles (2005-2012)











Jeanne C. Watson (2007-2011)



Peter F. Schmid • Mick Cooper • Jeanne Watson • Bill Stiles at Highgate, London, July 2009



Bill Stiles • Peter F. Schmid • Pete Sanders (publisher) • Dave Mearns • Elke Lambers (chair board WAPCEPC) • Robert Elliott at the editors' meeting in Potsdam, July 2006